1980 John Lennon & Yoko Ono – Double Fantasy



Double Fantasy is the fifth album by John Lennon and Yoko Ono, released in 1980. It is also the seventh and final studio album released by Lennon during his lifetime. The album was initially poorly received. However, following Lennon’s murder on December 8, 1980 three weeks after its release, it became a worldwide commercial success and went on to win the 1981 Album of the Year award at the 24th Annual Grammy Awards.

In the middle of 1980, Lennon made a sailing trip through treacherous waters from Newport, Rhode Island, to Bermuda. During the journey, his yacht encountered a prolonged severe storm, and most of the crew succumbed to profound fatigue and seasickness. Lennon, free of seasickness, was eventually forced to take the yacht’s wheel alone for many hours. He found this terrifying but invigorating. It had the effect of both renewing his confidence and making him contemplate the fragility of life. As a result, he began to write new songs and reworked earlier demos. He commented later, ‘I was so centered after the experience at sea that I was tuned in to the cosmos – and all these songs came!

Side 1
1. “(Just Like) Starting Over”
2. “Kiss Kiss Kiss”
3. “Cleanup Time”
4. “Give Me Something”
5. “I’m Losing You”
6. “I’m Moving On” Ono
7. “Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)”

Side 2
1. “Watching the Wheels”
2. “Yes, I’m Your Angel”
3. “Woman” Lennon
4. “Beautiful Boys”
5. “Dear Yoko”
6. “Every Man Has a Woman Who Loves Him”
7. “Hard Times Are Over”

If you have any concerns about condition please email me first and I will happily play the album first and/or send better pics or give you more information about the condition. contact@rockislandvinyl.com.

Close Menu