1979 Jimmy Buffett – Volcano


MCA Records ‎– MCA-5102. Volcano is the ninth studio album by American popular music singer-songwriter Jimmy Buffett and is his 11th overall. It was released in August 1979 as MCA 5102 and was his first release on that label after its absorption of ABC Dunhill.

The album and its title song are named for the then dormant Soufrière Hills volcano on the island of Montserrat in the British West Indies where Buffett recorded the album in May 1979 at AIR Studios. (The studio was severely damaged by Hurricane Hugo in 1989 and Soufrière Hills erupted again in 1995.) Additional recording was done at Quadrafonic Studios in Nashville Tennessee and Sunset Sound Studios in Los Angeles, California in the United States. The album is dedicated to Buffett’s wife and his daughter, Savannah Jane Buffett, who was born just before its release.

1. Fins
2. Volcano
3. Treat Her Like A Lady
4. Stranded On A Sandbar
5. Chanson Pour Les Petits Enfants
6. Survive
7. Lady I Can’t Explain
8. Boat Drinks
9. Dreamsicle
10. Sending The Old Man Home

CONDITION: Does have 3″ish rip at the bottom along were album would slide in. I would say this is average condition. Vinyl is perfect. I would say 5 or 6 out of 10 stars.

Close Menu