1975 Barbra Streisand – Lazy Afternoon


Lazy Afternoon is a studio album recorded by American singer Barbra Streisand. It was released on October 14, 1975 by Columbia Records. After releasing the Funny Lady soundtrack earlier in 1975, the singer began working with new musicians for the project following the mediocre critical response generated from her previous studio album, ButterFly (1974). Recorded in April 1975 in Los Angeles, Lazy Afternoon contains pop standards. Producer Rupert Holmes wrote four songs on the album, and Streisand received her first songwriting credit for the song “By the Way”. She also included a few cover songs, such as Four Tops’ “Shake Me, Wake Me (When It’s Over)”, Stevie Wonder’s “You and I”, and Libby Holman’s “Moanin’ Low”.

The album received generally favorable reviews from music critics who agreed that it was more exciting than ButterFly. The production also received praise from critics. Commercially, the album peaked at number 12 on the United States, number 42 in Canada, and number 84 in Australia. It was later certified gold by the Recording Industry Association of America for shipments of 500,000 copies. “My Father’s Song” and “Shake Me, Wake Me (When It’s Over)” were released as the album’s two singles in August and November 1975, respectively. The former entered the Adult Contemporary charts in the United States and Canada while the latter was a success on two of Billboard’s dance charts in late 1975.

1. “Lazy Afternoon”
2. “My Father’s Song”
3. “By the Way”
4. “Shake Me, Wake Me (When It’s Over)”
5. “I Never Had It So Good”
6. “Letters That Cross in the Mail”
7. “You and I”
8. “Moanin’ Low”
9. “A Child Is Born”
10. “Widescreen”

Close Menu